Now, the Good News:
> A Letter from the Dean

Accolades & Awards:
> UM SPH Alumna Wins Peace Award; NSF International Chair; Scholarships

Michigan Calling:
> Michigan Telefund

Global Experience:
> The President's New Donor Challenge

Investment Minded:
> Donor Profile: Steven Bloom

Connect :
> SPH Career Connection

It's Just That Simple:
> Lawren H. Daltroy Memorial

The Longer View:
> Planned Giving

The Path Taken:
> James Martin, Emeritus Professor of Environmental Health Sciences

> Michigan Difference Finale


> UM SPH Giving Opportunities

Print | E-mail this article

Spring 2009
Accolades & Awards

Farideh KioumehrUM SPH Alumna Wins Peace Award

University of Michigan School of Public Health alumna Farideh Kioumehr (MPH ’71, DrPH ’73) was presented with the first-ever peace award during the 136th Annual Meeting of the American Public Health Association (APHA) in October 2008. Dr. Kioumehr attended the school’s Keep In Touch Reception, where she met and was proudly acknowledged by Dean Kenneth Warner to the crowd.

Dr. Kioumehr received the new Sidel-Levy Award for Peace in recognition of her work against gun violence. As founder and executive director of the International Health and Epidemiology Research Center she created the Anti-Violence Campaign for Peace. The project strives to educate and raise awareness about the hazards of guns, toy guns and weapons, violent video games, and violence among children, parents, and educators. The focus of the campaign’s initiatives is on children, following Mohandas Gandhi’s assertion, “If we want to have true peace in the world, it must begin with the children.” The goal of her project is to create a healthier and more peaceful world.

Dr. Kioumehr remembers her time at UM SPH very fondly, especially her opportunities to work with renowned epidemiologist and FluMist® inventor Dr. John Maassab. She also has warm memories of Dr. Warren Eveland and
her advisor Dr. H. J. Dodge.

Dr. Kioumehr is married to a neuro-radiologist and has two grown children. Her son Andysheh has applied to the University of Michigan for graduate school in the fall of 2009 as a result of hearing fantastic things about the university.

The new award, endowed by and named for APHA past presidents Victor Sidel, MD, and Barry Levy, MD, recognizes an APHA member who has made outstanding contributions to preventing war and promoting international peace.

Dr. Kioumehr would love to hear from you if you are interested in world peace. You can visit her website at

3 imagesOther APHA Accolades: Tracy Lee Finlayson (PhD ‘05), far left, received the Jay S. Drotman Memorial Award given to a health worker or student under 30 who has challenged traditional public health policy or practice in a creative manner; and Melvin Shipp (DrPH ‘96), center, was honored with the 2008 APHA Executive Director’s Citation. In addition, Professor of Epidemiology Ana Diez Roux received the Wade Hampton Frost Award, which recognizes a person who has made a significant contribution to addressing a major public health issue by applying epidemiologic principles and methods.

NSF International Department Chair Awarded:

NSF employees, students, and UM SPH faculty and staff gathered at SPH on February 18, 2009, to hear professor Howard Hu deliver the inaugural NSF International Department Chair lecture in honor of NSF’s funding of an endowed chair in the Department of Environmental Health Sciences. He is pictured here (at left) with NSF International CEO Kevan Lawlor (at right).

NSF International and the School of Public Health started their long association when the company began in the basement of the school as the National Sanitation Foundation in 1944. Since then, NSF International has grown into an international leader in product certification and standards for food, water, and consumer goods.

Scholars and Their Scholarships Celebrated:

On April 2, 2009 UM SPH hosted an animated gathering of scholarship recipients and numerous donors to some of the school’s 46 scholarships that support public health graduate students. Pictured at right are a few of the 92 students honored this year.

UM SPH produces this annual event to facilitate connections between the school’s newest scholars and alumni and friends who support the next generation of creative public health professionals.